Interview with Sherron Kidd founder of eVisions and Digital Motifs


Union Club Tacoma Interview with Sherron Kidd founder of eVisions and Digital Motifs

Can you tell us a little bit about your business?

We’re innovative, and progressive as we step into the minimalists’ world of Art representation.  We use macro-photography to create art of simplicity. It is unique in that the consumer plays a crucial part in the process. On this note, we can say we offer the service as a personal Virtuoso.

How did you get Started?   What ignited the spark in you to start a new business venture? How did the idea for your business come about?

Years ago, I worked along side Oprah in communications at a local radio station. I’m a jack of all trade, sort of speak, and hardly master at any.  Suddenly, when reflecting how my life could be ending as I listened to the diagnosis of a having a brain tumor, I became very withdrawn and despaired.  Then, one morning I awaken from a dream that reflected upon how she had once made the comment that I was a ‘creative genius’.   My creative brain ever since, has been in over-drive. A spark is ignited!

Sherron Kidd

My Auntee’s Cobalt Blue water pitcher set… she’s since passed, but I’ve created a way to keep her favorite piece a part of our family’s heritage through art for an updated view.  It hangs in the dining area next to the China cabinet in which it’s kept. The room is light blue. What a wonderful addition. An idea is sparked! Artifact memoirs  – is – DIGITAL MOTIFS.  (Copyright and Trademark protected)   by Zherron

 

Who are your main customers and how do you attract them? (How do you build a successful customer base? How do you market your business? How are people aware of your business?) 

In my business plan, I stated how the market for what we do, has an endless line barer of color, age, creed or alternative lifestyles, etc. (Especially to those that appreciate visual arts). We are basically an online based business.  Hopefully, with the Union Club opportunity, we can hold special Gallery Events.

What was one of the biggest obstacles you overcame in starting your business?

Like a lot of my constituents in the art world, I’m a “struggling” artist.  I traveled back and forth to my hometown, in Nashville, TN, during my convalescence, and only dabbled with the business idea.  Whenever I’d presented a glimpse of my idea,  the feedback was overwhelming. Life uncertainties promoted a lot of procrastination. I am just now starting my business and putting things into motion.  I’m looking forward to the “work space” and its many opportunities.

Where do you see your business heading in the next 5 years? 

In 5 years, I hope to see the concept of Digital Motif materialize as something everyone can envision in their homes.   A percentage of our proceeds will go towards Brain Tumor Research. Although the theme is targeted towards the minimalist’s population, it is designed for the masses. Our mission statement is… “You think it, I envision it, We create”.

What motivates you?

Collaboration and comradery are great motivators for me.  With that, I feel like I could climb Mt. Everest. As a retiring school teacher, the students provided a certain amount of self- gratifications with their successes, but I’m looking forward to blending into a more mature adult world.  I need to be around “like-minded” people.

What are your hobbies? What do you do in your non-work time?

My business license title is eVisions.  I do Digital Motifs as a part of eVisions.  I create e-Brochures, eWedding Albums and eBusiness Cards, etc.  For the schools in Tacoma, I’ve designed creative PowerPoint presentations for different staff members.  My background is in Broadcasting and Advertising.  My heart is being creative.  I’d like to add that Mrs. Hernandez, my assistant is interested in doing set up for events.  She’s been featured in the Tacoma Times on the front page twice.  She does catering, and I suppose, I might be helping her some. The photo attached is only one of types of events she’s done. She worked with Thea Building people when they first launched as was successful in filling the spaces.  I’m hoping she’ll use those same skills in promoting me and my business.

Where can people go to buy your product or how does someone go about becoming a customer?

As I begin my journey with the Union Club, the first order of business will be to update some materials I neglected due to my travels. Below are a couple of sites so far. . .

YouTube:  (An animated promo that I published)  http://youtu.be/Z9C1bwTePEQ

How did you decide on the location for your business? (Why did you choose to start your business in Tacoma? What made you choose to locate at the Union Club? How has that been a benefit to you personally or your business?) 

Answered in above statement. Great opportunity!

Best of luck Sherron and thanks for sharing your story!  We are glad to have you at the Union Club Tacoma 🙂

Categories: Member Spotlight, Union Club NewsTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

